• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Nicole Alderman
  • Mike Haasl
  • r ranson
  • paul wheaton
master gardeners:
  • jordan barton
  • John F Dean
  • Rob Lineberger
  • Carla Burke
  • Jay Angler
  • Greg Martin
  • Ash Jackson
  • Jordan Holland

Eco-commune in Finland North Karelia

Posts: 73
Location: Finland
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
This house is old farm with about 7 hectares of field to farm.

Purpose would take the land again in use and get farm animals like chickens. Also I work non-profit in innovations and inventions for example in developing new generation aquaponics system, and in micro-algae like spirulina, so it would be great if you share the same purpose.

I havent been in payjob for long time, since I dont see society is going to good direction and making work for paying taxes is therefore a moral problem to me, also I cant see where I could even find honest job here in Finland so I concentrate on the work I can accept as good.

Also herbal medicine is somewhat familiar to me and always want to learn more, but my main focus is self-sustaining.

Next summer would be idea to get rabbits as meat and also to produce all the food for them and recycle the nutrients, I hope I can publish also here this closed-system bioreactor I have been planning for this and hope to get build first prototype already before summer.

Also I would like to expand spirulina growing to outdoors in summer and use it as feed to animals in part.

The apartments is about 200 m2 now in use, the rest is unfinished so we could work it as team and gain more rooms for people to live.

In yard there is sauna which heats with woods. Inside there is 3 fireplaces. About 200m2 big stables I intend for winter for the rabbits and chickens. Two little buildings in yard also + old cowhouse, which has new roof but unfinished in other parts.

One citchen and bathroom with shower and toilet. Rooms available now 4.

I am renting this place and landlord has given permission for me to make new renting deals with other people, also he is interested on these projects so the cowhouse is available to them and everything else can be agreed as well when things proceed.

I am quite cynical about people, so it will take time to build trust so I am not in hurry to find other people here to build future with me and I am planning more people here maybe next winter/autumn.

My wife is allergic to cats and dogs, so unfortunately they are not welcome inside. I do like all animals also: not just for eating!

Message me more if interested, my english is poor and motherlanguage is finnish. I am 31-years old.

Pictures of the house/yard:


Me with my horse-friend (I dont own horses but I like riding so I have worked in couple stables in return of free riding, the only job I have ever enjoyed in life, cleaning ub stables, at least I can call that honest work.)

Please do not shoot the fish in this barrel. But you can shoot at this tiny ad:
Rocket Mass Heater Manual - now free for a while
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic