• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic
permaculture forums growies critters building homesteading energy monies kitchen purity ungarbage community wilderness fiber arts art permaculture artisans regional education skip experiences global resources cider press projects digital market permies.com private forums all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
master stewards:
  • Anne Miller
  • Nicole Alderman
  • r ranson
  • Pearl Sutton
  • Mike Haasl
  • paul wheaton
stewards:
  • Joylynn Hardesty
  • Dave Burton
  • Joseph Lofthouse
master gardeners:
  • jordan barton
  • Greg Martin
gardeners:
  • Carla Burke
  • Ash Jackson
  • Kate Downham

Wanted: Female, 39-55, to help create a Homestead in Spain or Portugal.

 
Posts: 2
  • Likes 4
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hello, and welcome. My name is Zander, I’m 48 and from Southern England.

I’m not here because I need a partner to join me on my self-sustainable future, because I’ve been flying solo for many years now, and my life is very comfortable.
So, rather than ‘need’ someone, I prefer to use the word ‘want’. It suggests a desire for something, a longing.
I miss the warmth of a partner. The feeling of unconditional love. Sharing magical moments that can only be experienced by two souls that were meant to be together.  

I realise it may be a long shot finding someone here that lives on my frequency, but as my father always said, “nothing ventured, nothing gained”.

For the past 12 months I have been looking at various types of property in Northern Portugal, and Galicia, in Northern Spain. This is mainly because they are both popular locations for off-grid communities, with a year-round climate ideal for off-grid living.

The main ingredients I’m looking for are:

• Natural Spring (drinking water)
• River or Stream running through the land. (Irrigation/fishing)
• 5-50 Acres
• Excellent Sun exposure (For solar panels)
• Derelict, or renovated building with habitation licence.  

Plans for the homestead:

• Grow organic fruit and veg
• Keep hens
• Bee keeping
• Breed fish (Trout and Tilapia)
• Aquaponics & Aeroponics

Ideas for funding the homestead:

• Planting 100’s of almond & olive trees
• Truffle farming if the conditions are right
• Selling eggs, vegetables and fruit
• Dog breeding/training
• Selling fish & freshwater shrimp



In an ideal world, I’d prefer to live in Canada or the US. The US has been made a lot harder thanks to the Trump administration, (don’t get me started…grrrr) so the only route is marrying a US citizen, and I’d prefer not to end up on ‘90 Day Fiancé’.
Now, Canada, on the other hand, is also an amazing place, but the winters can be harsh. But, if Canada & the UK sign the CANZUK agreement, then Brits will have freedom of movement in Canada, New Zealand and Australia. For now, I’ll stick to Europe.

So, now you know what I plan to do, let me explain a little about myself.

I have always been fascinated with the idea of living in the mountains, beside a freshwater stream, or river. Waking up to the sounds of nature, and enjoying breakfast on the deck, while watching the morning sun appear on the horizon.
I've always been an outdoor person, so it's no surprise that Earth is my natural element, followed closely by Water.

Over the years I have worked in 28 countries, visited 48, and temporarily lived in 6.
I studied Photography at University, and over the years I’ve also studied Carpentry, Plumbing, Plastering, and a number of other construction courses.
Apart from a twelve-year career in Photography, I also enjoyed working as a Children's Outdoor Instructor, Ski Guide in the French Alps, Volunteer at a Husky farm in the Arctic, Soldier in the British Army, building log Cabins in Sweden, and working on a Children’s TV programme called Teletubbies.  

I love to laugh, and often. I have an irreverent sense of humour, and often find myself spontaneously laughing out loud, because I'm thinking of a comedy sketch, I watched the night before, or perhaps a year ago. (If you can't laugh at yourself, we are definitely not compatible).

I drink only to be sociable, don’t smoke, nor do any drugs.
I have been on a Keto diet for 2 months now, and it's made a huge change to my life, physically, and mentally.
Exercising has been difficult during the pandemic, but living a 10 min walk from the beach has helped. I have done a lot of kayaking, SUP and mountain biking.

My 2 golden rules:

• Love cannot be seen; it must be felt with the heart!
• Outer beauty fades with time, but inner beauty lasts forever.

So, that’s me in nutshell. If the idea of living in Portugal or Spain resonates with you, you are between 38-55, female, then I look forward to hearing from you. I'm still trying to understand how this works, so if you're in the same boat as me, then feel free to message me at zk300907@gmail.com

Finally, anyone interested should bear in mind that I will be expecting you to bring something to the table financially. I’m not expecting you to match my budget, but I will expect you to contribute, in order to have the best homestead we can.


 
Posts: 6
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Zander,

Sounds like you have a great plan and the skills and resources to make it happen!  I'm doing a lot of what you are hoping to do - at least as much as can be done (by me) - on 1/10 acre suburban property 10 miles from Los Angeles.  No spring or river but working on water capture.   I'm a tiny bit out of your age range and not so inclined to move to Spain or Portugal at the moment but think you sound pretty great.  Good luck with your search and your journey!! Robyn
 
Zander anton
Posts: 2
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Update: 8th September 2020

Not sure why all my pics disappeared on the original ad, so hope this helps.

 

The following pics will give you an idea of the properties I'm looking at:

  Spain - 2.7 Acres (River Frontage)

   Portugal - 1 Acre (River Frontage)

   Spain - 10 Acres (Stream)

 
money grubbing section goes here:
Rocket Mass Heater Manual - now free for a while
https://permies.com/goodies/8/rmhman
reply
    Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic