Permies likes eastern usa and the farmer likes DC/Northern VA - Rent my basement, grow food permies
  Search | Permaculture Wiki | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies | World Domination!
Register / Login


permies » forums » regional » eastern usa
Bookmark "DC/Northern VA - Rent my basement, grow food" Watch "DC/Northern VA - Rent my basement, grow food" New topic
Author

DC/Northern VA - Rent my basement, grow food

Jon Storvick


Joined: Apr 03, 2009
Posts: 4
My wife and I are separating, and I'm looking to rent out the finished basement in our house. The house is in Dale City, with proximity to Manassas, Potomac Mills, and I-95. The neighborhood is very nice, pretty quiet, and feeds into good schools. There is a grocery store within walking distance, and opportunities for hiking and biking. I have a vegetable garden and am in the process of designing a home orchard/food forest. If you like gardening or growing food, this is the place for you.

The basement is fully finished with one bedroom, a closet and crawlspace for storage, and a living area with brick fireplace. There are doors that lead to the garage and to the back yard. The laundry area is located in the basement, kitchen upstairs. Because the laundry area is shared, I would be willing to set up a schedule for washing clothes - I definitely respect privacy. The kitchen is available for use at any time.

Rent is $700/mo plus half utilities, one half month's rent as a security deposit. If I end up renting out one of the upstairs bedrooms as well, the utilities will be reduced to a third. I don't mind if you smoke, as long as you go outside. I don't mind if you drink, as long as you aren't the type that gets crazy when you do. Please, no drugs or drama. I'm not picky about your age, race, religion, gender, politics, sexuality or what side of the bread you like your butter on - as long as rent gets paid on time and you clean up after yourself, things are golden.

A little about me - I'm 32, and do design/build for a company that specializes in edible landscaping (fruit trees, berries, veggie gardens, etc.). I'm finishing up my degree in Horticulture from NOVA this Spring.

If this sounds like something you're interested in, shoot me an email and tell me a bit about yourself.

Jon


Jonathan Storvick, Organic Edible Gardens
http://www.oegardens.com
angela leon


Joined: Sep 16, 2012
Posts: 1
Hi my name is Angela Leon I am looking for a from to rent out preferably a basely I do have a dog and idk if you are cool with that. I'm 22 years old and have been living on my own since I was 18. My family has moved to Texas and have absolutely no family here my boyfriend is in jail and I have been living in this house for 2 years. An his family moved in to help out... I'm looking to move due to issues with the family and my landlord having a problem with others not paying rent therefore I'm looking for a place alone with my dog..
She isn't the best with people that she doesn't know but after she gets to know you for a while she will get used to you. Or I can keep her away when I am not home. I am willing to work something out with you. Looks like we both are going through some things. My boyfriend is 33 and will be getting out 2014. I really do hope you consider me to rent out your basement. Can you send some pictures? Please consider me! 7032969522
 
 
subject: DC/Northern VA - Rent my basement, grow food
 
cast iron skillet 49er

more from paul wheaton's glorious empire of web junk: cast iron skillet diatomaceous earth sepp holzer raised garden beds raising chickens lawn care flea control missoula electric heaters permaculture videos permaculture books